Q Menu
< Treforest Conference Facilities

Level 3 & 4 FAD - Students

Level 3 & 4 Diploma in Foundation Studies (Art & Design)

What is this course?

It offers a one year full-time or two year part-time course of study. The course is designed to provide learners with a thorough and comprehensive experience of art, craft, design and media to prepare them for Higher Education and future employment within creative visual disciplines.

Why should I choose this course?

If you are thinking seriously about becoming a professional artist or designer and would like to work and study alongside others who are as keen and talented as yourself then you should consider applying for this course.

You will find the course to be a uniquely enjoyable and stimulating experience. You will be taking the first step in your training as a professional artist or designer with opportunities to explore a wide range of specialist art and design subjects.

The standards of work achieved on the course are high and will prepare you for the highly competitive demands of Higher Education. Visits to HE institutions are encouraged and advice is given on your choice of course. You will be assisted in preparing your portfolio of work and with improving your interview skills.

What does this course involve?

The course consists of three assessed stages. Each stage is delivered through 2 units:

Stage 1 (Level 3 - Units 1 & 2)
Exploring creative visual language in Art & Design

Stage 2 (Level 3 - Units 3 & 4) or (Level 4 - Units 5 & 6)
Developing specialist practice and preparing for progression in Art & Design

Stage 3 (Level 4 - Units 7 & 8)
Planning, creating and presenting a Major Project in Art & Design

See Specification from 2010 or Information for Centres for further guidance.

Latest news

Join the WJEC Foundation Art and Design (FAD) Community

The group, set up by FAD advocate David Dooper, encourages teachers and students to showcase work, share resources, best practice, subject-related news and also seek advice. Please note, this is not a WJEC endorsed group.

Click the FAD button to join the group.

What about my future prospects?

On the evidence of recent years, if you complete this course you have an excellent chance of gaining a place on a HE course. Students who have successfully completed the course have progressed to many of the best degree courses in the UK. From these, they have gone on to work in all parts of the world as professionals in areas of art and design such as advertising, television, film, fashion, manufacturing, publishing and education.

Am I eligible to apply?

To apply for this course you should generally be eighteen years of age or over. There is no upper age limit and mature students are very welcome.

You should have pursued as broad an education as possible and normally have 5 GCSEs grade A-C, or one A level and 3 GCSEs grade A-C, or equivalent qualification(s). However, you should not be discouraged from applying because of a shortage of qualifications; entry can be negotiated provided your practical work is of an appropriate standard.

Centres will need to be convinced of your suitability by looking through your portfolio of work during interview. This should include a substantial number of drawings done from observation, as well as paintings, crafts, textiles, 3D work, photography and any other work you have produced. Especially important is anything you have initiated on your own.

Where can I get advice?

If you are at all uncertain about your readiness or whether this course is right for you, then ask a college that offers the course for an advisory interview. The college will be pleased to look at your work, give sound advice and suggest future options.

You can also join the WJEC FAD Community group on Facebook to ask any questions you may have.

What are the costs?

The centre will give you the latest details about financial support. You will need to provide most of the basic materials yourself.

Which centres offer the course?

The centres listed below currently offer the course. For further information please contact the individual centres:

CentreCourse LeaderTel NumberE-mail
King Edward VI College (Nuneaton) David Bird (024) 7632 8231 david.bird@kecnuneaton.ac.uk
Ashton Sixth Form College (Ashton-under-Lyne) Susanna Smith (0161) 330 2330 susanna.smith@asfc.ac.uk
Gloucestershire College (Gloucester Campus) Karen Morris (01594) 838420 karen.morris@gloscol.ac.uk
Andover College (A Campus of Sparsholt College) Charmaine Cook (01264) 360000 charmaine.cook@sparsholt.ac.uk
Coleg Llandrillo (Rhos-on-Sea) Amanda Hamilton-Williams (01492) 546666 a.hamilton-williams@gllm.ac.uk
Coleg Cambria (Yale) Sheena Bain (01978) 311794 sab@yale-wrexham.ac.uk
Coleg Ceredigion (Aberystwyth Campus) Julian Ruddock (01970) 639700 ruddockj@ceredigion.ac.uk
Carmarthenshire College (Jobs Well Campus) Stephen Hughes (01554) 748000 stephen.hughes@colegsirgar.ac.uk
Coleg Gwent (Crosskeys Campus) Helena Roberts (01495) 333455 helena.roberts@coleggwent.ac.uk
Coleg Gwent (City of Newport Campus) Sian Dinham (01633) 466020 sian.dinham@coleggwent.ac.uk
Coleg Menai (Bangor Campus) Owein Prendergast (01248) 370125 owein.prendergast@gllm.ac.uk
Coleg Meirion-Dwyfor (Dolgellau) Carwyn Pugh (01341) 422827 c.pugh@gllm.ac.uk
Arts Academy Cardiff (Bridgend College) Lou Thornton (029) 2034 0296 artsacademy.bc@outlook.com
Coleg Y Cymoedd Neil Burridge (01443) 662800 neil.burridge@cymoedd.ac.uk
Cardiff and Vale College (Barry Campus) Adrian Metcalfe (01446) 725000 ametcalfe@cavc.ac.uk
Gower College (Swansea) Elinor Franklin (01792) 284000 elinor.franklin@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk
University of Wales Trinity Saint David (Swansea Campus) Bella Kerr (01792) 481000 bella.kerr@sm.uwtsd.ac.uk

For further information, contact:

Subject Officer - Mari Bradbury
029 2026 5138
mari.bradbury@wjec.co.uk

Subject Support Officer - Mike Saltmarsh
029 2026 5005
mike.saltmarsh@wjec.co.uk